UnorthadoxMomma

A mom who likes to live outside the norm

It’s so weird to think my son is coming soon!

It’s April, which officially means that my son can come any day and be a healthy baby and (hopefully) avoid any complications!  It’s also crazy that he can be born any day this month and it’s “okay”.  I officially have until May 3rd (42 weeks) before my OB would want to induce since I’ve had previous c-sections.  Yes, I have a Dr that would gently induce me over doing a routine repeat C-section!  I can’t tell you how thankful I am for my OB, as you know how frustrated I am with the birth machine.

But man, I really hope that this guy comes sooner rather than later.  Sorry to you guys that may be reading this, I’m trying not to be to specific, but I’m definitely feeling my body prepare!  I’ve been experiencing all kinds of stuff I never felt before, even with going to 41w5d with my son when I was induced.  I think a big part of it is all the things I’ve been doing to help myself physically prepare this time.  I’m eating a lot better and weigh 20 pounds less than I did with the other 2, so I have less cushioning!  I’ve been drinking red raspberry leaf tea almost every day so that my uterus is toning and preparing for the big game with my braxton hicks contractions.  And this week I started taking Evening Primrose oil to help my body start softening my cervix so that labor is again more effective and quick.

So, I don’t know if it’s any of those above factors (or all of them) or just the fact that this is my 3rd pregnancy, but I’m currently at 37w4d and I feel like I could be going any day!  As of my visit 3 days ago, I’m dilated to 1.5 cm, which never happened with my other 2.  Even without contractions, I’m feeling definite pressure down there, and it can get pretty uncomfortable!  I’m really feeling like there’s a head down there!  2 days in a row now I’ve had 4-5 fairly strong practice contractions in an hour…I keep thinking I’ll wake up in the middle of the night in real labor.  The funny part is, the last 2 nights have been the first in weeks where I haven’t woken up having a contraction.

But I tell you what, the most amazing part, despite the discomfort, is feeling my body doing what it was made to do.  And, even though I’m definitely ready to see him, it’s more of a “I feel my body working and I’m excited and prepared and ready” feeling, instead of the impatience and cluelessness that I felt before.

I’m ready to experience what my body was made to do.  I’m so excited to meet this little guy.  I’m hoping and praying that there are no complications, and that I can do this the natural way that I’ve been preparing for.  Hopefully soon I can post my birth story!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “It’s so weird to think my son is coming soon!

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents « UnorthadoxMomma

Leave a comment

Dr. Malcolm Kendrick

Scottish Doctor, author, speaker, sceptic

Breastfeed Chicago

Supporting and advocating for breastfeeding families in Chicargo

chittykittybangbang

my life, up in the air