UnorthadoxMomma

A mom who likes to live outside the norm

My Grandpa passed late last night

There are so many thoughts as feelings going through my head and body right now. But I can honestly say that none of them are sadness for my grandpa.

IMG_3878He was born Horace Albert William Wesche on December 21, 1925 and lived to a wonderful old age of 87, passing at 11:40pm on March 16, 2013.  He was holding my grandma’s hand.

It’s been a rough few weeks for him and the whole family.

Just over 2 weeks ago I got a call from my dad, saying I needed to talk to my grandpa.  I called him and talked for awhile.  He was going in to have surgery the next day.  He hadn’t been able to eat since Christmas, his esophagus was into his stomach, and many of his internal organs were up above his diaphragm.  He was sad because he had just lost another friend.  He was ready whatever happened: he wouldn’t make it without the surgery but might not make it with.  He felt like he was one of the last of their friends, but was worried about leaving my grandma.

The surgery went amazingly well.  The were able to do it laparoscopically.  We all pictured him completely opened up on an operating table, but they were able to repair it all through 3 small incisions low and 2 high incisions.  His only real pain following was from his arthritis, not from the surgery.  I was able to be there for his first physical therapy session.  I don’t know if he wasn’t listening (or couldn’t hear) the physical therapist, but instead of using his arms to push off, he just got up out of the bed and held on to the walker.  He was determined, tired but upbeat.  He was ready to start eating again, and the ice chips were just not enough.

320109_10151494972217230_548394307_nBut then just over a week ago, impatient to get up and use the restroom, he fell and broke his hip.  With a combination of the medications and pain, he pulled out his feeding tube the following day.  They were able to do surgery to repair his hip, but his white blood cell counts were bad and he was moved back to ICU.

Yesterday I got the message that his kidneys were failing.

When I heard my phone this morning, I just knew.

I wish now I hadn’t gone to the conference I was at and had spent some last time with my grandpa instead of waiting to go today.  Thankfully my grandma was there. And my dad was able to visit before going in to work.

My grandpa’s arrangements are as follows:
Visitation Thursday (3/21) from 3-8pm at Baumann Funeral Home at 2504 Woodson Rd, 63114
Visitation Friday (3/22) from 9-10am at Our Redeemer Lutheran Church at 9135 Shelley ave 63114
Funeral following the visitation at 10am
Burial following the funeral at Laurel Hill Cemetery at 2000 Pennsylvania Ave 63133

IMGPlease be praying for my family, that this brings everyone closer together.

Pray for my grandma, I don’t want her to be alone.  I’m hoping we can find a way for someone to live with her.  I hope that she can stay in the house that Grandpa built for her around 50 years ago.  Thankfully, I think my cousin is living with her now.

I’m thankful that his pain is over, and that it was quick.  I just wish he could have been at home.  I wish he would not have been in such pain over these last few months.   I wish my grandma wasn’t alone.  I’m thankful we all get to see him again.

http://christianmommyblogger.com http://www.yourthrivingfamily.com/

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “My Grandpa passed late last night

  1. Sorry to hear about your lost. Loved your photos.

  2. Sarah, I’m sorry to hear of your grandpa’s passing, but so glad his pain has ended. It sounds like he truly finished his “race” well. It’s not easy for any of us to lose a loved one in this life, but you’re absolutely right, you’ll see him again in glory. Be comforted, my friend.

  3. Elizabeth on said:

    Praying for you and your family. God Bless!!!

Leave a Reply

Breastfeed Chicago

Supporting and advocating for breastfeeding families in Chicago

chittykittybangbang

our life, up in the air

St. Louis Homeschool Events

Offerings of interest to homeschoolers in the greater St. Louis area.

Little Stepping Stones

(Site under construction)

