UnorthadoxMomma

A mom who likes to live outside the norm

Homemade playdough

So, I’ve been wanting to use up the food coloring that’s in my house while also finding some things for my kids to play with in the heat.  Honestly, I hate play dough, but kids love it…  I figured I’m a lot better off with homemade stuff, it smells better and if one of the little ones eats it, at least it’s edible.

Take a medium sized bowl and put in 1 1/2 cups water, 1 1/2 cups salt and 3 tablespoons of a vegetable oil.  Mix up and gradually add 3 cups of flour and 3 tablespoons of cornstarch.  You may want to add a little more flour, but err on the side of too little.

Now for the really messy part.  The recipes I found all said to add the food coloring to the water initially, but I wanted 4 colors and not a huge batch of one color.  So I separated it into 4 parts and added 8-10 drops of food coloring to each section and mixed by hand.  It’s a little more difficult this way, but once you get it mostly mixed you can let your kids go to town with it.  I found it mixed up just fine after a few minutes.

Find some containers to keep it in (I used small mixed nut cans) and voila!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Homemade playdough

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents « UnorthadoxMomma

  2. Pingback: My curriculum free homeschool plan « UnorthadoxMomma

Leave a Reply

Breastfeed Chicago

Supporting and advocating for breastfeeding families in Chicago

chittykittybangbang

our life, up in the air

St. Louis Homeschool Events

Offerings of interest to homeschoolers in the greater St. Louis area.

Little Stepping Stones

(Site under construction)

