UnorthadoxMomma

A mom who likes to live outside the norm

Homemade liquid soap

So, I have several different bars of soap I’ve been buying and wanting to try, but if you’re like me, you like the liquid version.  I’ve been scouring the internet for recipes, but most of the recipes make a gallon of soap at a time.  I like to make small batches of the different types of soaps I have so that I don’t have half a dozen gallon jugs filling up my cabinet.  This way, I can make just enough to fill up my soap containers.  This way I can have variety for different uses, but instead of running to the store I can just make up a new batch every month or two.  If you like to make big batches, I’m writing my recipe in a way that you can multiply it.

You’ll start by putting one cup of water for every ounce of grated soap into a sauce pan or stock pot.  While heating, add one ounce of grated soap for every cup of water (I grate mine directly into the water while heating).  Stir well, and after it is well mixed set aside to cool for a few hours.  A good option is to make it in the evening and let it sit overnight (but if you’re like me, you make it whenever you can!).  For good consistency, you may need to blend up with a hand mixer after it’s cooled.  Pour into the container(s) of your choice.

More options (amounts are based on 1 cup of soap):

  • 1/8 teaspoon of glycerine (a natural moisturizer from animal or vegetable fats) for every cup (this is optional as many soaps already have this).
  • 1-2 drops of tea tree oil  (a natural anti-fungal, anti-viral antiseptic.  It helps treat acne, a dry scalp, body odor and repels insects such as mosquitos and lice…great for when bathing your kids!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of honey (a natural anti-biotic and is good for cleaning and first aid)
  • 1-2 drops of essential oil for fragrance (and other benefits depending on the oil)

I plan on adding 1-2 of these things to each of my soaps depending on what I’ll be using it for, but the beautiful thing is, if you start with a basic natural soap, you could use the same soap on your hands, for your face and in the shower (this may be a reason to make a big batch, so you can put it in several containers around your house).  My goal is to try it out for my face and body and eventually get to my hair.  If I like the way it works, when I run out of my store bought versions I’ll just start using my home-made soaps for those purposes.  Instead of spending $5-10 a bottle for good natural soaps (or more!), I can make all of it for around $20 a year.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Homemade liquid soap

  1. Pingback: How my family lives on a minuscule budget « UnorthadoxMomma

  2. Pingback: Table of Contents « UnorthadoxMomma

Leave a Reply

Breastfeed Chicago

Supporting and advocating for breastfeeding families in Chicago

chittykittybangbang

our life, up in the air

St. Louis Homeschool Events

Offerings of interest to homeschoolers in the greater St. Louis area.

Little Stepping Stones

(Site under construction)

