UnorthadoxMomma

A mom who likes to live outside the norm

If I was Mrs. Noah

So, over the last few weeks I’ve gone to a few Answers in Genesis conferences (www.answersingenesis.org), and been reading about the flood.  People always say there couldn’t be a global flood because how would all the different types of animals fit, how would they eat, wouldn’t the animals eat each other, etc.

Well, I guess you need to be reading the Bible literally to even start having a belief in this, but a couple of points from the Bible:

1) We always see pictures like this, but in reality, the ark was huge!  Noah was told to make the ark: “the length of 300 cubits, its breadth 50 cubits, and its height 30 cubits”.  A cubit can be anywhere from 18 to 24 inches (depending on either who was king or who was measuring), so at a minimum, the ark was 450 feet long, 75 feet wide, and 45 feet high.  So, that’s over 3 stories high and one deck would be the size of at least 20 basketball courts.  And being a 6:1 ratio, it was extremely stable.

2) People, and probably animals as well, were not told they could eat meat until after the flood (Genesis 3:3 says “Everything that lives and moves will be food for you.  Just as I gave you the green plants, I now give you everything”).  Animals and people were created before sin, therefore there was no death, so they all ate plants.  The taste for meat came through time…even lions can eat plants.

3) The flood was more than just a rain storm.  It was earthquakes and volcanic eruptions which also brought on tsunamis and a rush of water.  Plus, there’s plenty of water on earth.  There are basins in the ocean that are deeper than the tallest mountains.  If everything was more flat the water would easily cover everything and the subsequent churning, volcanoes, and earthquakes would easily make the mountains we know today.

4) And God SENT 2 of every KIND of animals.  Wolves, foxes and dogs are all one KIND of animal.  They can all interbreed, but through natural selection and being separated over time produced all the varieties we know today.  This goes for birds, mammals, insects, reptiles…dinosaurs!  And there would be plenty of room.  Most animals are the size of sheep or smaller.  Of course there are big dinosaurs, mammals, etc, but there really aren’t that many huge animals, they’re just the more well known types.

5) These people were very intelligent.  People lived for hundreds of years then.  Before the flood, people were working in iron, making musical instruments…I’m sure they were engineers as well.  It wasn’t until the 1900s until people were able to make a ship to the size of the ark of the Bible.

But this isn’t really a post trying to prove the flood, this is about what I would do if I was Mrs. Noah or one of her daughter in laws.  (This is all in my imagination…not saying this actually happened!)

So, God said that he’s sending a flood to destroy the earth, and my husband is charged with making a huge vessel to save 2 of each kind of animal  (or 7 “clean”).  He and his sons are busy over 100 years building the ark, making preparations, welcoming the animals that God is sending.

Well, I would be busy too.  I would be making sure that my husband built me some huge raised garden beds on the upper deck of the ark.  I would be making pottery containers of all sizes to plant herbs, vegetables, and fruits.  I would be spending the decades learning all I can about all the different varieties of plants good for eating and healing and making sure I bring samples of everything so that these plants survive along with all the animals.

As I saw the ark was reaching completion, I would start planting in those beds he built.  I would plant as many varieties of fruit trees as possible, as well as trees that provide nuts, basically anything good for food.  I would also plant lots of grains and grasses so that we would have fresh food for the animals.  I would also be busy harvesting and drying food to bring on the ark for when fresh food isn’t available.

I would be preparing and packaging seeds and cuttings of all types to be ready to plant after we get off the ark.  I would also be writing down everything I’ve learned (or at least storing it up in my mind) about the healing properties of all the plants to pass down to my daughter in laws so that the knowledge goes on.

Basically, with all I’ve personally learned over the last few years about being self-sufficient, herbs and natural medicine, imagine if I had 100 years and a mission ahead of me!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “If I was Mrs. Noah

  1. Pingback: Table of Contents « UnorthadoxMomma

Leave a Reply

Breastfeed Chicago

Supporting and advocating for breastfeeding families in Chicago

chittykittybangbang

our life, up in the air

St. Louis Homeschool Events

Offerings of interest to homeschoolers in the greater St. Louis area.

Little Stepping Stones

(Site under construction)

